Reading Challenges – 2015

booksOnce again, I’m participating in Wendy the Super Librarian’s TBR Challenge. I really enjoyed joining last year – one book a month isn’t a heavy commitment for someone like me who reads and reviews loads of new stuff but doesn’t get around to a lot of older books. The themes this year are similar to last years, with a few swaps and substitutions – which is all good!

January – We Love Short Shorts! (Category romance, novellas, short stories)
My Choice: The Earl and the Governess by Sarah Elliott

February – Recommended Read (A book recommended to you by another reader/blogger etc.)
My Choice: Rakes and Radishes by Susanna Ives

March – Series Catch-Up (A book in a series you are behind on)
My Choice:Moonglow by Kristen Callihan

April – Contemporary
My Choice: A Kiss for Luck by Grace Burrowes

May – Kickin’ It Old School (Copyright date is 10 years or older)
My Choices: 1. To Have and To Hold – by Patricia Gaffney
2. Married to a Rogue – by Donna Lea Simpson

June – More Than One (An author who has more than one book in your TBR pile)
My Choice: Waking Up With the Duke by Lorraine Heath

July – Lovely RITA (past RWA RITA winner and/or nominees)
My Choice: Mrs Drew Plays Her Hand – by Carla Kelly

August – Impulse Read (The book you bought because of the cover or The book you bought on impulse or The book you cannot remember why you bought in the first place!)
My Choice: Kissing a Stranger by Margaret Evans Porter

September – Historical
My Choice: A Brilliant Mismatch – by Elizabeth Mansfield

October – Paranormal or romantic suspense
My Choice: The Dark Tower by Josephine Edgar

November – It’s All About The Hype (a book or author that got everybody talking)
My Choice: The Perfect Rake by Anne Gracie

December – Holiday Themes (Christmas, Valentine’s Day, any holiday!)
My Choice: The Holly and the Ivy by Elizabeth Fairchild

I’ve got a rough idea of which books and authors I’m going to pick, and I’ll be keeping a tally here as the year progresses.

For the third year in a row, I’m also taking part in the Mount TBR Challenge at Goodreads. I find that the books I choose for this overlap with those I use for other challenges, but it does encourage me to choose my challenge books from the Big Pile of Paperbacks Sitting by the Bed, as this challenge requires me to read books I bought prior to 1st Jan 2015, and means I can’t count any ARCs.

I managed 24 last year (which included a couple of audiobooks of books I’ve had on my TBR pile for several years), and am going for the same number this year.

I’ve signed up for the Historical Romance Challenge at Herding Cats and Burning Soup which, let’s face it isn’t going to be too much of a challenge, given I read the genre about 95% of the time, but still, it’s a good one for me to join in with.

I’ll be dropping back to this post every so often to keep a tally of how I’m doing.

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenges – 2015

  1. The Historical Romance challenge is not going to be a real challenge for me either because I mostly read HR’s too. The TBR challenge sounds fun. If I sign up for that one maybe you can recommend me a book 🙂

Leave a Reply

