The Other Duke (The Notorious Flynns #1) by Jess Michaels (audiobook) – Narrated by Danielle O’Farrell

The Other Duke

For years Serafina McPhee has been engaged to marry the heir to the duke of Hartholm; and for almost as long, she has been struggling to find a way out of that engagement. When he suddenly dies, she does not mourn but thrills at the idea that she will be free. Unfortunately, best-laid plans go awry when the next in line for the title, her intended’s cousin, Raphael “Rafe” Flynn, is forced to take over the engagement. But Serafina knows Rafe’s reputation as a libertine and wants nothing to do with him, either, even if he is devastatingly handsome.

She proposes an arrangement: she will agree to the marriage and provide Rafe with his heir and spare. Once she has done her duty, he will let her go. Rafe is intrigued both by her beauty and by her utter disgust with the idea of being his bride. Women normally fall at his feet, not cringe away from him. However, since their arranged marriage is not something he can escape, he agrees to her terms.

But when he finds out on their wedding night the truth about her torture at the hands of his predecessor, he finds himself driven not just to fulfill his bargain with his new bride but to introduce her to desire. While they move closer together, surrendering to wicked pleasures, dangerous emotions may violate every agreement they’ve made.

This title is available to purchase from Audible via Amazon

Rating: C+ for narration; C for content

The Other Duke is the first book in Ms Michaels’ series, The Scandalous Flynns, and it tells the story of the oldest of the Flynn siblings, Raphael (Rafe) who is unexpectedly elevated to a dukedom he doesn’t want upon the death of a distant cousin. It’s a fairly short story, lasting for a little over seven hours in audio, and it begins well; but ultimately, it does not contain enough material to sustain a full-length (albeit short) novel. After the first couple of hours, it seems to be padded out with sex scenes that, while well written, are largely irrelevant.

You can read the rest of this review at AudioGals.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s