In Celebration of June Is Audiobook Month

To mark June is Audiobook Month, I and my fellow AudioGals have been choosing some of our favourite audiobooks in our favourite genres, and this week it was my turn to choose my Top Five Historical Romance audios. Which wasn’t easy. Last week saw Kaetrin picking her Top Five Contemporary Romances, and the week before that, BJ chose her Top Five Urban Fantasy/Paranormal listens. There’s still time to enter the giveaway for earbuds and downloads – head over to AudioGals and scroll down to the bottom of this week’s post for details.

In the meantime… my Top Five.

I might as well say this right now. I am utterly HOPELESS at choosing favourites. The minute anyone says to me “what’s your favourite (something)?” my mind goes completely blank and I struggle to think of ANYthing, let alone the ones I’d rate above all others. Then after the initial panic has subsided, I can think of too many. But because, when it comes to audiobooks, I’m someone who always places the narrator ahead of the author in terms of importance when it comes to choosing the ones I want to listen to (sorry, authors!), choosing five audiobooks I think would be a good introduction to historical romance in audio for someone who wants to take the plunge but doesn’t know where to start didn’t prove too difficult. My choices are therefore selected by narrator first; and as such, feature my “Fab Four” – four narrators I would quite happily listen to if they were reading the phone book.

You can read the rest of my list at AudioGals.

4 thoughts on “In Celebration of June Is Audiobook Month

    1. I listen in the car, when I’m doing chores around the house, and when I’m too tired to see straight enough to read! Sometimes I will just sit and listen for an hour or so without doing anything else. In this week’s JIAM post at AG (coming up on Friday) all of us talk about how and when we listen. I think that once you get hooked, you will find yourself making the time 🙂

  1. If I’ve read the book, I’ll listen to the audio some months later. This allows me to know the story but focus on the narrator. It’s true a narrator can break or make a good story. I’ve enjoyed some really fantastic narrators!

Leave a Reply

