Lord of Danger by Anne Stuart (audiobook) – Narrated by Susan Ericksen

lord of danger

This title is available to download from Audible via Amazon.

Half-sister to Richard the Fair, Alys has been schooled in the sheltered ways of the convent, far from the treachery and intrigue of castle life. Until she is taken from the cloister and brought to a place filled with secrets. Here she is to meet her future husband, a man some call a monster. His name is Simon of Navarre, a powerful and mysterious lord practiced in the black arts. This sensual stranger both terrifies her and fascinates her…and sets her heart burning with an unfamiliar fire.

Jaded by war, no longer able to believe in human goodness, Simon has turned toward the realm of darkness. But the master magician finds himself bewitched by the innocent Alys, who fears his very touch could damn her forever. Yet even as Simon begins to work his seductive magic, Alys senses the wounded soul beneath the cooly elegant facade. Now, as the two become pawns in Richard’s treacherous scheme to become England’s king, only one power can save them: the unstoppable force of love.

Rating: Narration – B; Content – B-

Originally published in 1997, Lord of Danger is a standalone historical romance set in Medieval England at the time of the reign of Henry III. It has all the ingredients one would expect from an Anne Stuart novel – intrigue, suspense, a heroine with backbone and an amoral, dangerously sexy hero, all wrapped up in an above average narration by Susan Ericksen.

Lady Alys de Lancie and her younger sister Claire are half-sisters to Richard, known as Richard the Fair, who is cousin to the twelve-year-old king. The ladies have been brought up in a convent but are now to leave it and travel to Richard’s castle at Summersedge so that Alys can marry the man chosen for her, Richard’s trusted advisor and, according to rumour, a wizard and practitioner of the dark arts. Naturally, the idea of marriage to such a man is not an eminently appealing prospect, but Alys is a pragmatist and knows that she has no choice in the matter.

You can read the rest of this review at AudioGals.

2 thoughts on “Lord of Danger by Anne Stuart (audiobook) – Narrated by Susan Ericksen

  1. Caz
    I really enjoy your reviews. They add to the whole reading experience. I find your views very much echo my own although you express them much more eloquently than I could. I know that if you give a book a good review I will almost certainly enjoy it. The only problem is that you seem to get through so many books that I struggle to keep up especially if you recommend an author new to me and I then wish to catch up on their back catalogue.

    1. Hi Kate – I’m glad you find my reviews useful and thanks for taking the time to let me know; I really appreciate it! I do get through a lot of books, I admit, and sometimes I wish I didn’t read so fast as the quicker I read the more reviews I have to write!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.